Stonehenge Stone Circle News and Information
“A little further on the right of the road leading to Amesbury, we see the mutilated remains of an enormous Druid barrow”
This is how Richard Colt Hoare described Woodhenge in the early 19th century, and it continued to be viewed as a disc barrow (with the name “Dough Cover”) until 30th June 1926.
On that day, Squadron Leader Gilbert Insall VC took an aerial photograph that showed a series of dark circular cropmarks inside the area enclosed by what had been regarded as the barrow’s ditch.
Insall’s photo is shown below, Woodhenge is just above left of the centre.
These marks later proved to be the surface traces of six concentric rings of postholes, uncovered by Maud and Ben Cunnington in their excavations between 1926 and 1928. These posts date to between 2600 and 2400BC.
When their excavations were over, they installed short concrete markers to show…
View original post 683 more words